Looking for potential game-changers

The Curt Bergfors Food Planet Prize is the largest monetary award in the global food arena. It rewards innovative solutions that can help us shift to sustainable food systems within a ten-year timeframe. The Prize  is the Curt Bergfors Foundation’s primary tool to encourage agents of change and promote game-changing initiatives.

To  save the Food Planet, we must accelerate change! The 2021 IPCC climate report confirms that there is no more time to waste. It's Code Red! We, therefore, search for solutions that can be applied at a rapid pace and across food systems – preferably globally.

Luckily, visionaries all over the world are working passionately to rethink, re-engineer and reshape our food systems. Their brilliant ideas, bold initiatives, and smart solutions must be recognized and given the opportunity to make an impact. We are committed to rewarding them annually. The winner gets US $2 million. This means that the world's biggest environmental award is all about food.


Accelerate the transition to sustainable food systems


US 2$ million annually


Nominees can be individuals, groups, organizations or businesses fully committed to sustainable food or distinctly identified projects implemented by existing companies and institutions. We welcome a broad range of initiatives. They can be science-based or derived from practice, industrial or crafts-based, entrepreneurial or institutional, behavioral, or high-tech. Still, they must have the potential for broad scaling and application.
Submit yours
We are casting our net far and wide. That means anyone can submit a nomination, one’s own initiative or project, or somebody else’s. We also set zero limits on the number of submissions per individual. One, two, or more, we encourage you to nominate multiple initiatives. And we have an always-open nomination process. Therefore, you can nominate promising ideas as soon as you cross their paths, no matter the time of year.
We evaluate the nominated initiatives against six criteria: thematic relevance, level of innovation, feasibility, immediacy of impact, scalability, and potential for systemic change. Each nominee gets several opportunities to win, as we reconsider all nominations ever submitted for the Prize every year.
Learn more