The Jury

Meeting the Food Planet Challenge – converting to sustainable food systems – is critical for our future. If we fail to act, we will face high risks; if we succeed, significant benefits await. We are in search of solutions that can be applied widely – preferably globally – at a rapid pace. Finding these solutions among several hundred nominations requires world-leading expertise and experience.

The Jury

  • Prof. Shenggen Fan

    Chair Professor at China Agricultural University, currently leading a national innovation team on food economics and policy at the University. Shenggen Fan (樊胜根) was the Director General of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) from 2009 to 2019. He has worked on rural development, poverty reduction, hunger, food security and nutrition in China, India, and Africa.

  • Prof. Jessica Fanzo

    Bloomberg Distinguished Associate Professor of Global Food and Agriculture Policy and Ethics at the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics. Jess Fanzo is an expert in the fields of diet, nutrition and food security.

  • Dr. Line Gordon (co-chair)

    Director of Stockholm Resilience Centre at Stockholm University, Associate Professor in Natural Resources Management with a focus on sustainability of water, food and the biosphere. Line Gordon is a member of the Board of the EAT Foundation.

  • Prof. David Nabarro

    Professor of Global Health at Imperial College London. He has worked in the UN system with disease outbreaks and health issues, food insecurity and nutrition, climate change and sustainable development, and is now serving as the WHO’s special envoy, COVID-19.

  • Magnus Nilsson

    Director of the MAD Academy, a platform for education and inspiration in the restaurant community, aiming to make the food system resilient. Author, food philosopher and former Chef-restaurateur at the internationally acclaimed, Swedish restaurant Fäviken Magasinet.

  • Paul Polman

    Creator of Imagine, a foundation that works to combat poverty and climate change, giving companies the tools to meet UN global goals for sustainable development. Paul Polman is the former CEO of the British-Dutch company Unilever.

  • Prof. Johan Rockström (co-chair)

    Professor in Earth System Science at the University of Potsdam and Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research. Johan Rockström chairs the advisory boards of the EAT Foundation and the Earth League.

  • Prof. Olivier De Schutter

    Co-chair of the International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food). Olivier De Schutter is a professor at the University of Louvain. He served as the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food from 2008 to 2014, and as Member of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights from 2015 to 2020. He was appointed the UN Special Rapporteur on extreme poverty and human rights in 2020.

  • Dr. Lindiwe Sibanda

    CEO and Head of Mission of the Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN). Lindiwe Sibanda is a serving member of the SDG Target by 2030 Champions 12.3 and the African Union Commission (AUC). She has received numerous awards for her work with agriculture and food security in Africa.

  • Prof. Rami Zurayk

    Professor of Ecosystem Management at the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences at the American University of Beirut. Rami Zurayk’s current research focuses on the relationship between landscapes and livelihoods, on food politics, and on local food systems.